raggedblossomhandmade

Besan Bombs

Should I have put ‘bomb’ in the title I wonder?

This recipe is taken from my failsafe bible The Failsafe Cookbook by Sue Dengate but I’ve modified it a bit. It’s one of the (very) few ways I’ve been able to get my daughter to eat vegetables and if she’s not quick my husband and I eat them all – they’re so yummy!

They’re basically little parcels of vegetables covered in batter, very similar to Indian pakora. Gluten free, dairy free and failsafe!

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup besan (chickpea) flour
  • 1/3 cup rice flour
  • 1/2 tsp gluten-free baking powder
  • 3/4 cup water (approx)
  • 1 shallot finely chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic crushed
  • salt to taste
  • 1 cup vegetables chopped into bite sized pieces. For failsafe use old white potatoes and other permitted vegetables. Mushrooms are my favourite if you can eat them!
  • Rice bran oil

1. Combine flours, add water and mix until the batter resembles a thick pancake mixture. Getting the right consistency is key, if it’s too runny the batter won’t stick to the vegetables.

2. Add in the chopped shallot, crushed garlic and salt. Mix well.

2. Chop up the vegetables and parboil any hard ones such as potato. Ideally you want to catch them before they get mushy. Add them in with the batter, stiring to make sure they’re all coated.

3. Heat enough oil in your saucepan for shallow frying, make sure it’s quite hot (medium to high heat). Once the oil is hot use a teaspoon to scoop out a piece of vegetable making sure it’s reasonably covered in batter and drop it into the pan. Let it cook until it’s a golden brown colour and then turn once or twice as needed for all sides to be browned.

4. Cook in batches letting the finished ones drain on some paper towel. I’m not sure if it’s the rice bran oil or the batter I use but they’re never greasy like bad fish and chips.

Besan bombs are yummy on their own but I make up a sauce for the adults which is 50/50 lite sour cream and sweet chilli sauce. So my daughter doesn’t feel left out I give her some soy yogurt to dip hers into.

Happy eating!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Besan Bombs

  1. Well, if they are explosively tasty I don’t see why not :D. They do sound awfully good!

    • They are! Love all your recipes by the way, and especially the message behind them about not wasting what we have. Must try making some of those Cardamom cookies…and being Australian I would probably call them biscuits. Until I looked I never realised there was such a differnce between biscuits and cookies!

  2. Suzanne Garske on said:

    Yum! I’m going to try these for sure! Do you know if you can get the chickpea flour at Woolies?

  3. I made these the day I saw them. Very yummy indeed. Mine didn’t look as good as yours but tasted marvellous.

Leave a Reply

