raggedblossomhandmade

Homemade Chicken Stock and Soup

I was very fortunate on the weekend to meet Jude Blereau and hear her talk about her passion – Whole Food Cooking.

Wholefood n. food that is eaten as close as possible to it’s natural state, without unnecessary processing and refining…

She is such a passionate intelligent woman and it really inspired me to make some changes to the way I think about and prepare food. Much of it I have practised in the past but it’s so easy to let it slide and become so busy in life that food is no longer high on your list of priorities.

And hopefully it will lead me on the path to restoring our families digestive systems which are all in a poor state at the moment.

So to get started today I made chicken stock and then chicken soup. I would like to say it was all organic ingredients but I was just using up what was in our fridge (the chicken was free range though!).

I based my recipe on this blog and just used what I had at home.

Chicken Stock

Ingredients:

  • 1 Whole chicken
  • 2 celery sticks roughly chopped
  • 2 carrots roughly chopped
  • 1 brown onion (I only had a red one so used that)
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • sea salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1. Put all the ingredients into a large pot. Add enough water so that the chicken is just covered. Bring to a boil then simmer on low heat for about 45-60 minutes, or until the meat is cooked. The cooking time will vary depending on the size of the bird. I also turn the chicken about half way through as it floats and I worry the top won’t cook as well as the bottom.

2. Keep the stove on low heat, and carefully remove the poached chicken and place it into a large bowl or dish. Remove the breasts, legs and wings (leave the skin on so the meat stays moist) and place the carcass back into the pot. Make sure that the meat is covered with enough juices so that it remains moist. You could always add some from the pot, if there’s not enough. Then cover the bowl with a clean tea towel and allow the meat to cool.

3. Meanwhile, simmer the stock for another 1–2 hours, and then strain into a large bowl to cool. Keep the vegetables and discard the carcass. Once the stock has cooled, store in containers and freeze.

This made 7 cups of stock for me.

 

Chicken Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp oil
  • 1 spring onion finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic crushed
  • 3cm piece of fresh ginger grated
  • Vegetables from the stock (finely chopped)
  • Approx 1.5 cups of poached chicken from the stock (finely chopped)
  • 2 cups of stock
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce (optional)
  • Sea salt and pepper to taste
  • Anything else you want to add – I had some left over gluten free pasta that I popped in too.

1. Heat oil in a large saucepan and add the spring onion, garlic and ginger. Stir until onion softens.

2. Add water and stock and bring to the boil. Then add the chicken and vegetables from the stock.

3. Since everything is already cooked you’re basically just heating it up. Add any other herbs you’d like.

Serves 3-4 people.

By the way I met Jude through Mindful Empowerment – a womens group run by my friend Bianca on the last Sunday of every month. She has organised amazing guest speakers, yummy afternoon tea and meditation. It’s just great to have some time to relax and concentrate on yourself and I couldn’t recommend it more highly!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

