raggedblossomhandmade

Reaching For The Clouds

Today was a perfect Melbourne winter day and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky. But I decided to add a few to my daughters room after I saw this craft activity in todays Home supplement in The Herald Sun – it’s written by Katie Evans and you can find her blog here.

It’s so simple, all you need is:

  • Scissors
  • Cardboard (from a box)
  • PVA Glue or similar
  • Paintbrush
  • Adhesive wall mounts
  • Fabric

My daughter’s room is an olive green so I was thinking about what colour would be a great contrast and I thought of these great pillowcases I just got from the op shop this week – a lovely deep orange with a dot paisley pattern.

Firstly you need to draw some clouds on your cardboard. I did some little sketches first…

I decided on three and upscaled them onto my cardboard. Before I cut them out I traced them onto baking paper in case I want to make some more another time.

Once the clouds are cut out I placed them onto my fabric. I only needed one pillowcase, by cutting it up the side seams I could place all three clouds on the one piece of fabric.

Trace around the cardboard and cut out the fabric. Then grab your glue (I put a reasonable amount in a plastic container or you can apply it directly) and use your paintbrush to cover the cardboard cloud in glue, being careful to get right to the edges.

Next get your matching fabric cloud piece and carefully lay it onto the cardboard, smoothing it as you go. It’s a bit like when you used to cover your school folders in contact in Year 7!

Once the glue has dried a bit trim the edges where there’s any excess fabric.

Attach the wall adhesives to the back and decorate your wall – lovely!

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Reaching For The Clouds

  1. Wow that looks great! I love the deep orange fabric.

  2. Me too. I’m really going through an orange phase – couch cushions are next!

  3. Hello! I LOVE your clouds! So glad the article inspired you. Katie x

Leave a Reply

