raggedblossomhandmade

Quick and Easy Upcycled Bunting

We are optimistically preparing for spring at our house and cleaning out an unused area under our balcony for our 2yr old daughter. My husband has been putting together a blackboard and a wee seat and I got busy making some bunting.

This is a great project if you are new to sewing, it’s very easy and you’ll have something to show for your efforts in a couple of hours.

All you’ll need is:

  • Scraps of fabric
  • Approx 4m of 25mm bias binding (not upcycled I know – but you can make your own)
  • Pinking shears
  • Sewing scissors
  • Piece of cardboard
  • Pen

Firstly I got a cereal box out of the recycling bin and marked out a triangle to use as a template for the bunting flags. Mine measured 15cm across and 17cm in length. I then hunted through my (admittedly extensive) fabric scrap collection and chose 7 pieces that were roughly coordinating in green.

Using the template trace out 18 triangles (3 of each fabric or however many you want) and then cut them out. Use regular scissors to cut the top and then use the pinking shears to cut the sides. This gives a nice effect and also stops the fabric from fraying easily.

Next lay out the bias binding and pin the triangles along the bottom edge. Leave approximately 3cm between each triangle and about 10cm at each end of the bias binding. Then sew the triangles into place.

Now get the iron out and fold the bias binding in half so that the folded edges meet (see photo). Iron into place all the way along. You can also pin it in place as you go.

Last step: Sew along the length of the bias binding (you will have covered the tops of the triangles). At each end fold about 2.5cm towards the back and sew into place. These will form the loops to hang the bunting.

Yay! You’re done!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Upcycled Bunting

  1. Believe it or not, I didn’t even know what bunting was until I moved to England – so ignorant of me. I’m actually quite envious of your artistic ability and skills. While I’ve been here I’ve had Mum on the sewing machine adjusting my clothes for me (even as we speak she’s taking up a dress of mine!). This afternoon I had to put a button on a jacket and ended up pricking myself with the needle then spending the next half an hour complaining about it – I think Mum decided it was less grief to do things for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

